Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Stat Check vs. Difficulty Number

Script Title: NI_SvD
This is my first time Requesting a Script. I'm still pretty green when it comes to Ruby, but I'm learning fast. I'll try to make this request as succinct as possible. Hopefully, once it's done, it'll help a whole lot more people than just little old me.

I'm looking for a Script that can be plugged into the Script radio button in the Conditional Branch section of the Event Editor, takes several inputs and returns a True or False depending on a comparison of the inputs versus a specified "Difficulty Number," also declared in the inputs. The function will require some form of Scripted random number generator whose result will be part of the process.

(One of the more difficult aspects of this Script, for me, is the random number generator. Not sure if Ruby has something already mocked up in its library files. If it does, awesome.)

For instance, the function placed within the Conditional Branch Event window might be something like this:

NI_stupid_script_request(actor_id, stat_id, class_id, class_id2, class_id3, difficulty_number, rand_span)*

actor_id would be the number that identifies the actor. A 0 here indicates that you use the second input instead, class_id.