Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Character Database (Writers utility program)

Just curious,

Tdata asked a question on the Game and Application Development board if anyone knew of a good Character Database program.  The only one that existed that was worth its salt, was a professional program.  So I decided to take on Tdata's request, and it got me wondering.  Would anyone else here need a character database for whatever reason?

Since Tdata needed a free solution, I started coding my own.  I'm nearly complete with it, because it was fairly simple in its overall concept.
Here's a few screen shots of it so far:
http://alexandermorou.com/images/screenshots/characterdb/characterdb-001-th.jpg[/img] http://alexandermorou.com/images/screenshots/characterdb/characterdb-002-th.png[/img] http://alexandermorou.com/images/screenshots/characterdb/characterdb-003-th.png[/img] http://alexandermorou.com/images/screenshots/characterdb/characterdb-004-th.png[/img] http://alexandermorou.com/images/screenshots/characterdb/characterdb-005-th.png[/img]

I would make a topic in the Game and Application development board, but this program would best benefit writers; however, I must ask, do any of you here have a use for such a program?

You'll have to forgive the rigidness of the program's data, but it's written around the specs Tdata outlined, though they do seem pretty reasonable considering the general focus of the community.

Here's an outline of the general data the program focuses on:
First Name, Last Name, Gender, Age, Height, Weight, Profession, Rank (Subset of profession, each profession has its own rank series), Weapons Used, Hometown, Motivation, Biography, Magical Abilities, Stories used in, Miscellaneous data, associated character pictures.