Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

software engineering

What is the difference between a software engineering degree and a computer science degree? I am a junior in high school and need to start looking at colleges. I would like to go into a career in software engineering and more specifically the development of software/applications, and I am a very talented programmer. I've been looking at many colleges, most only offer computer science and not software engineering. would I want to find schools with a specific degree in software engineering to help better my self, or for my interests is computer science the better option?

You didn't say where you are from; so I'll tell you from my experience of the UK system:
Computer Science is a very good degree, which at first is very broad, but it does allow you to specalise a bit; it will open the more doors due to its breadth. And you would most likely be able to get into the same places as with the Software Engineering degree. Courses at different Universities focus on different things; for instance, the one I was at (Portsmouth) Programming was 40% of the first year's grade, plus it had a great emphasis on maths a unit on it in the first and second year being compulsory.

Where Computer Science covers pretty everything (programming, database, web development, etc), Software Engineering I'd presume focuses more on the creation, maintenance and integration of software (with databases etc). From my University, Software Engineering and Computer Science had identical first years.

DJ

Some guy that did RMXP before

I am pretty sure software engineering literally focuses on creating / managing of software
while computer science just studies from basic terms of computer programs and discrete mathematics.