Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Refillable Chests with Random Item

How would I go about doing this?

I know that refillable chests can PROBABLY be done through Switches, but I'm still very new to the game and that sort of step would require a lot of thought for me. I would want them to refill with an item after... let's say the character sleeps at an Inn in any town?

On top of them being refillable, I was wondering if I could make them have a random item in them as well. Let say... you get 1 item out of a list of 10? To make things random (Or to make it seem like a search, if the character is looking through debris) it'll look something like.
1. Nothing
2. Nothing
3. Arrows x10
4. Hand Axe
5. Long Sword

The list will remain the same, but each time the player "sleeps", the switches get reset and the chest fills up with this "random" item again.

Thank you for the help. I will be most patient with a response.

Yes this is possible without scripts.

ok firstly for the random item part:

-in your event create a new variablein the event command list and make it a random variable range from 1 -5 (ill just call this variable = "Chest")
-make another event command: conditional branch = variable "chest" if 1
then : Write your text "You receive nothing"
-make another event command: conditional branch = variable "chest" if 2
then : Write your text "You receive nothing"
-make another event command: conditional branch = variable "chest" if 3
then : Write your text "You receive ten arrow"
then : Write your text "You receive Hand Axe"
then : Write your text "You receive Long Sword"
After the end of each conditional branch turn ON control switch "Blah Chest Empty"

Make another event page with the condition of operation "Blah Chest Empty" = ON

Sweet