Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Newbie Alert! Need Script!

Hi. I'm a noob, in case you didn't know, and I can't script to save my life. @_@ I came here recently and looked at the scripts. Basically, when it comes to scripting, I'm dead last place in that race (Yay, rhyming power!).

For the game I'm making, I need a script that will allow a character to, when self-inflicted with certain status, changes his skill list to something different. For example: He uses a spell that infuses him with fire-elemental power, and learns fire-related spells and attacks. I would use events, but it creates lag in the game on one of my computers (Pentium Three Processor, its ancient...)... I also need the script to allow the character to regain the infusion of element power skills back as soon as the battle is over. Any help is greatly appreciated, and you'll receive full credit, whether you like it or not! XD

Thank you for reading this, by the way. Kinda long-winded, but I love what ideas I came up with...

Well, to make things clearer...

1. What characteristics of skills do you want to infuse? Maybe X-elemental skills, healing skills, and so on, or mixture that you want to define on your own?

2. Are the actor's original skills gone temporarily until the status depletes (i.e. you want the status to deplete when the battle is over) or new skills are added instead?

3. After the status depletes, are the infused skills gone for good (until s/he is inflicted that status again) or are added for the rest of the game?

It goes without saying, I'm a noobie...

Anyway, to answer your questions: