Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

First attempts at keyboard

Ok, it's not pretty and it sounds awful and I'm still learning but these are my first attempts at recording from a keyboard.

It takes a lot of getting used to as there's a half second lag after each key stroke so my timing is all out and I've missed a lot of keys.

Anyway I know it's not good as I've only just started but I wanted to contribute to the music forums so here you go!

It's not from any sheet music I just kinda guessed it but oh well. It's recorded from a keyboard through some old cables I found at my Nan's through my laptop's headphone socket so the quality is absolute balls, sorry about that. Turns out they don't even SELL the midi cables this keyboard uses any more.

http://bb.hbgames.tk/upload/turkish_oh_my_ears.mp3
http://bb.hbgames.tk/upload/tetris_take_2.mp3

regi

Sponsor

haha I have to say, I was not expecting the tetris theme on an organ.

I'm no expert with keyboard recordings, but on basic playing you need to keep a steady tempo (the first song, you were speeding up and slowing all over the place). You could also lessen that pedal echo effect (gets quite messy toward the end of the first song). Otherwise, continuing to practice is the key to improvement.

teehee well its pretty solid though, how long have you been playing/practicing?
i remember i could only play shitty stuff after a year of practice..
i was 12 at the time though.

Well a few weeks now but to be fair I used to play as a little kid.

I'll turn the echo off :x