Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Drunken Status

Hi guys, Im rather new to using RMXP, Ive had it on my comp for a while, but never really fooled around with it, even though I shelled out the money for the full version.

I want to include a system in my current game Im working on that allows a character to get drunk after drinking a certain amount of drinks. When the character is drunk, he/she will see things based on how drunk they are, like screen flashing, people transform into monsters, etc. for a certain amount of time until the stupor wears off.

My request is a script that allows me to do this in my game. If it helps, there will be a maximum of four characters in my party at one time, I have a CMS that allows you to change the party leader, and Im planning on using the Caterpillar script when I can find it.

Coul anyone help me please?

McP

Well, I think you don't need a script for everything.. I think what you want can be done with Events.
Create a common event that is triggered when, let's say "Drunken"- switch is turned on. Then add effects like screen color changing or whatever you want.

I don't know how you want to make the player able to drink, but let's say you give him the bottles into the inventory, make the drinks trigger another common event that raises a variable by 1 and checks if this variable reaches a certain amount. When that amount is reached, the drunken switch is turned on and the drunken status is activated.
Make sure that after the player gets sober again the switch is turned off and the variable is set back to 0. Maybe you want to add some effects that take place when the player has been drunk too often.

umm this is difficult to explain..especially since i am german...i hope you understood some parts of it^^