Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

Collision problems

Hi, I'm participating in the Ludum Dare competition atm and I've decided to use Construct 2.

I've had no past experience with the program so excuse the noobishness.

My game has the player going around absorbing other 'orbs'. I've set this up to receive a point in a certain variable each time the player absorbs something. However, my problem is that after collision, I can recollide with the object again, thus giving the player more points that intended. It might be a bit difficult to understand so I have uploaded my project for you to inspect.

http://www.mediafire.com/?33w8h14xrj6oj4h

Thanks in advance!

onzephyr

Awesome Bro

Pretty much what Tomas said. fast fix is to add an instance variable to each of your 'orbs'. then in the collision event. check to see if the twitch is on ----> do actions and add an action to toggle the switch .

Based on your file it would look something like this.

-----------------------------------------
Player-- On collision with "aggression"
Aggression-- Variable = 0
-----------------------------------------> Player 8direction disabled
-----------------------------------------> aggression solid disabled
-----------------------------------------> aggression start fade
-----------------------------------------> sprite2 start fade
-----------------------------------------> Player 8direction enabled
-----------------------------------------> system add 1 to aggression
-----------------------------------------> aggression set Variable to 1

bonus of the switch is if you ever need to reset an orb for some reason you now have a built in way of doing it.