Envision, Create, Share

Welcome to HBGames, a leading amateur game development forum and Discord server. All are welcome, and amongst our ranks you will find experts in their field from all aspects of video game design and development.

change actor by pressing a key

Okay,
is there a script anywhere ( i cant find one )

to change actors quickly (with an animation aswell)
just at the push of a button in game
not on the menu and maybe in battle

(eg. pressing 'x' would cause the 'darkness1' animation over player and he would switch actor.)
and the actor is not in the party ( NOT seen when on Esc menu)

I thinks its really simple script, but as i am a noob, i need a little help.
:S

Thank you in advance :)

Recap:
One person in the party, but two actors in the data base, and being able to press a key to switch between them
(in-game) and maybe in battle.

and not from the menu.

Maybe you can do this with common events,
just that i really dont understand script to easily, and i dont want to learn just yet. (exams :( )
(thank you very much in advance )

I'm not a scripter, but this probably can be done with a common event.  Create a common event with a conditional branch that specifies that the "A" button is being pressed (I think A = X).  If the button is pressed, display the darkness animation.  At the same time, remove the current character from the party, and add the other one.  Add a Wait command (one frame) right after the swap.  Make sure the common event is on parallel process btw.  You may need to make two common events (one for each character), or you can use more conditional branches.  I'd explain this better, but I have to go to class now.  Good luck!

Thank you :)

But.. :down:
can you explain in more detail, becuase my character to change from Dead from to Human,
But not viceversa,
i've been tring to change it around,
it might have somthing to do with the switchs
but i cant use them in the write way :/

I've confused myself now..